Events

ES-logo

Keep up to date with Healthy Schools events and training in East Sussex from The School Health Service and our partners.

Calling all teachers of year 5 and 6

Would you like support from a school nurse with your teaching around puberty?

The East Sussex School Health Service are hosting 16 live online Q&A sessions for all year 5 and year 6 pupils in East Sussex. 

Term 5

  • Monday, 15 April - 11 to 11.40am
  • Thursday, 18 April - 2 to 2.40pm
  • Monday, 22 April - 11 to 11.40am
  • Thursday, 25 April - 2 to 2.40pm
  • Monday, 29 March - 11 to 11.40am
  • Thursday, 2 May - 2 to 2.40pm

Term 6

  • Monday, 3 June - 11 to 11.40am
  • Thursday, 6 June - 2 to 2.40pm
  • Monday, 10 June - 11 to 11.40am
  • Thursday, 13 June - 2 to 2.40pm
  • Monday, 17 June - 11 to 11.40am
  • Thursday, 20 June - 2 to 2.40pm
  • Monday, 24 June - 11 to 11.40am
  • Thursday, 27 June - 2 to 2.40pm
  • Monday, 1 July - 11 to 11.40am
  • Thursday, 4 July - 2 to 2.40pm
  • Monday, 8 July - 11 to 11.40am
  • Thursday, 11 July - 2 to 2.40pm

Pupils can submit anonymous questions in advance and one of our friendly qualified school nurses will answer them live during these accessible 30-minute sessions.

To book, simply email your preferred session date and time to kchft.schoolhealthplan@nhs.net.

How it works

Schools will need to collect and submit anonymous questions from their pupils around puberty to the School Health Service - kchft.schoolhealthplan@nhs.net - prior to the session. Appropriate questions will then be responded to by a school nurse in an age appropriate manner.

Please ensure that your pupils’ questions are submitted no later than one week prior to the session you have booked to attend. You will be sent a reminder about this in good time.

We are only able to answer questions around puberty and not sex. This is because we will be hosting a range of schools, some of whom will only be teaching the statutory puberty aspect and not the optional sex aspect, we won’t be able to answer anything that is not around puberty.

Primary pupils - keeping safe

Tuesday, 11 June 2024 - 3.30 to 5.30pm

This twilight teacher training session will cover:

  • How to create a safe learning environment in the PSHE classroom that supports discussion on knife crime
  • Exploring social norms on knife crime and group behaviour
  • Exploring gang behaviours in relation to primary aged children
  • Developing strategies that support primary aged children to explore the potential dangers of being part of a gang
  • Considering the reasons why children may be pressured into joining a gang and strategies that support children to resist peer pressure
  • Disclosure management and tricky questions
  • Signposting and quality assured age-appropriate resources.

To book your place contact us at kchft.schoolhealthplan@nhs.net.

  • Tuesday, 12 December 2023
    Breakfast CPD (Annual diary of support for non-specialists)
    Online 8 to 8.20am
  • Wednesday, 17 January 2024
    ESCC PSHE Hub Network meeting
    Online 3.30 to 4.15pm
  • Tuesday, 6 February 2024
    Breakfast CPD (Annual diary of support for non-specialists)
    Online 8 to 8.20am
  • Tuesday, 12 March 2024
    Breakfast CPD (Annual diary of support for non-specialists)
    Online 8 to 8.20am
  • Tuesday, 7 May 2024
    Breakfast CPD (Annual diary of support for non-specialists)
    Online 8 to 8.20am
  • Friday, 28 June 2024
    PSHE Leads CPD all day event
    The View Hotel

Any queries please email espshehub@gmail.com.

Give feedback

Have you used our services and want to give your views?

Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust

Scroll to Top